Skip to content

Easy (healthy) Granola Bars

December 11, 2009
tags:

I don’t post recipes very often even though I cook daily, usually with large knives that I leave unattended on the counter along with the small children. I’m going to try to only post recipes that involve directions like “dump, mix, bake @ 350 then have a glass of wine or lick the bowl or something” because I’m not here to complicate your life. However, I’m very sorry if this hasn’t been your experience.

Here is a recipe for super easy granola bars that are, I would venture to say, healthy. A little butter and chocolate always improves MY morale.

Easy Granola Bars

3 cups of rolled oats
1 cup of raisins or a mix of chopped dried fruit
1 cup of chopped nuts
1 cup of chocolate chips
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup of melted butter
(You can add whatever you want. Seeds, wheat germ, ground flax or any otherwise bland things that health experts claimed would save the world at one time or another. I thought I added millet once but turns out it was tapioca balls which gave the bars a nice – and by nice I mean dangerous – bird grit type texture)

Directions:

Dump, mix, bake @ 325, lick the bowl. (Actually, spread the mix evenly on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes or until edges are slightly golden. Wait for it to cool and then cut into bars.)

I’m pretty sure this recipe is from Rebar though I got it second hand and I can’t find it anywhere else.

If you make these and like them, let me know in the comments. If you make these and burn them, me too sister, me too.

For more things that work go here

One Comment leave one →
  1. bakerjac permalink
    December 13, 2009 2:59 pm

    I just made these (Literally JUST made them. They’re still warm.) and I’m in love. I’ve tried other granola bar recipes before, but they were all pretty dry and crumbly. These are chewy and HEAVENLY. Thanks.

    Oh, and I upped the healthy quota with some flax meal. Then immediately lowered it drastically by putting in peanut butter chips instead of raisins. I blame my husband.

Leave a comment